Posted on

My Blog Manifesto.

Where to begin? Well, I guess I’ll start with my name – Oneika Barrett. I am a 20 (soon to be 21) year old Junior at Loyola Marymount University. I am currently majoring in the Humanities with an emphasis in English, as well as minoring in Screenwriting and Political Science. I enjoy writing, I enjoy the news and I also enjoy telling everyone my opinion thus I am very interested in blogging.

The reason why I love blogging is because it is journalism from the soul. As the reading discusses, the idea of personal journalism has been around since the inception of America. However, when you blog you’re aloud to have thoughts and feelings more than an op-ed allows for because it is on the internet, and no one really monitors that (except for the government). Blogging, in my opinion, allows you to be yourself from the safety and comfort of your own home (or favorite cafe, or library etc). The beauty of blogging is that you maybe effecting one person or one million people with your writing but at the end of the day you’re still blogging for your piece of mind and to get your message out into the world; it really does give “everyday people the tools they need to join this emerging conversation” (Oreilly).

What I hope to learn from this class/experiment? In all honesty, I am not to sure! I know that I will learn a lot, but I don’t have one particular area I want to specifically learn from, so I guess it’s fair to say that I would like to learn from everything that we will be doing. Technology, the internet, and the world continue to change rapidly so I honestly believe that when it comes to trying to figure out what you want to learn there isn’t much of a point because the thing you may want to learn maybe outdated in a week or even a day. To learn as you go, in my opinion, is the best method to conquering the world of technology. I think that being apart of the digital native group has taught me this. I’ve owned my own lap top since I was around 10 years old and I can truly say that the things I imagined for technology and how involved I’d be with it then is no where near how it is for me today. Finally, am a citizen journalist? I don’t know, that depends on who you ask. In my belief I am not. I am just a girl with opinions (lots of crazy ones) and I enjoy applying them to real world situation which may or may not end up on this blog, along with emerging technology trends etc. That is why my blog is called Bare it Barrett… because I will try and bare thoughts and ideas about what is going on in this crazy techno driven world on this blog.

One response to “My Blog Manifesto.

  1. Don’t underestimate the importance of a girl with opinions! I like your attitude. But please break your text up into grafs. And spell check: Treat blogging like a professional assignment.

Leave a comment